Morocco across dynasties - Morocco is a melting pot of dynasties and cultures

Morocco across dynasties – Morocco is a melting pot of dynasties and cultures

July 4, 2024
Visit morocco

Each country has its history: facts, events, and historical stages that have been reported so far to give the country its historical value in question. The country’s history is one of the events that is considered worthy of memory, and Morocco’s history remains the perfect example. With several successive dynasties over several years: the Idrisid dynasty, the Almoravid dynasty, the Almohad dynasty, the Marinid dynasty, the Saadian dynasty and the Alawite dynasty, Morocco is an internationally recognized multicultural country, with multiple types of heritage recognized by UNESCO World Heritage. Morocco is one of the favorite destinations for foreign tourists, lovers of discovery, and those who are most interested in nature, history, the art of living, Moroccan hospitality, and the lived experience during their trips in Morocco that makes them leave satisfied with their stay there.

Idrisid dynasty

The Idrisid dynasty, founded by Idris I who made Volubilis its capital, was the first dynasty to conquer Morocco for more than a century. From 789 to 978, the Idrisid dynasty controlled much of the Maghreb, including North Africa in today’s Morocco. The Idrisids, who founded the first royal dynasty in Morocco, were able over time to build new cities, including the city of Fez, which became the capital after Vollibilis during the reign of the successor son, Idris II, and his successors. Many archaeological monuments to date bear witness to the architectural and religious works of this dynasty, such as the Al-Qarawiyyin Mosque, which is one of the most important mosques in Morocco and whose architecture is considered a true masterpiece. After several years of rule, the dynasty fell, giving way to the Almoravids

Almoravid dynasty

After the Idrisids, a new dynasty began to rule and take over parts of the Maghreb: the Almoravids. They destroyed African rule before attacking the north and the Almoravids founded Marrakesh in 1062. They were able to rule throughout the Maghreb and Andalusia and appointed Marrakesh as their capital and it became a center of trade and a link between sub-Saharan Africa and the Maghreb. They built many religious sites there, such as mosques such as the Koutoubia, whose construction began during the Almoravid era, Quranic schools, walls, and palaces. In addition, they also built an irrigation center to supply water to the entire area.

Almohad dynasty

The Almohads invaded Morocco and overthrew the Almoravid dynasty. By order of Ibn Tumart, the Almohads invaded Morocco and overthrew the Almoravid dynasty. By order of Ibn Tumart, the Almohads declared war on the Almoravids in the name of religion. Their name is because the followers of this movement were calling for the absolute monotheism of God. This dynasty’s architecture and cultural legacy were two main pillars and remain embedded in the symbolic monuments of Marrakesh, the Almohad capital, through the restoration of the Koutoubia Mosque whose architecture was modeled on the Giralda in Seville. Thus the Almohad dynasty ruled for half a century and was weakened after a defeat against the Christians in 1212.

Marinid dynasty

It was founded by the Berber leader Abu Yahya and took the city of Fez as its capital after the Marinid dynasty overthrew the Almohads and were expelled from the Maghreb. Their reign did not last long, as they were defeated by the Portuguese, who attacked the coast through Ceuta and the Strait of Gibraltar. Motivated by the transmission of religious values, the Marinids built many zawiyas, mosques, and Quranic schools such as those in Salé. This dynasty was distinguished by many achievements and principles, such as wood and stucco decorations, ceilings with decorated tiles, various ceramics, etc. The Chellah Cemetery, located in Rabat, contains remains that attest to the richness of this dynasty in terms of culture, history, architecture, and religious institutions.

Saadian or Zaydanid dynasty

The Saadian dynasty overthrew the Marinid dynasty by expelling them from power initially made Fez its capital and then moved it to Marrakesh. They declared war on the Portuguese and recovered several cities, especially Agadir. The Saadians took Spain as an ally to protect themselves from Turkish threats. Morocco experienced years of glory during the Saadian era. It was at its peak in terms of culture, knowledge and wealth. The Saadians obtained gold from Sudan after defeating the African Songhai Empire. They also built many works of art. In Fez, they built the tower and proposed changing the Al-Qarawiyyin Mosque. In Marrakesh, they built the Saadian Tombs, the Ben Youssef Madrasa, and the El Badi Palace.

Alawite dynasty

The Alawites originate from the city of Tafilalet. The Saadians were deposed by the Alawite dynasty to seize royal power. They initially took Fez as their capital, then it was moved to Meknes during the reign of Sultan Moulay Ismail, to finally be moved to Rabat, which has been the current capital of Morocco since 1912. Thanks to this dynasty, the city of Fez underwent a major transformation, which led to the improvement of the features of the entire city and the creation of Walls like the famous Bab al-Mansour gate. The dynasty continues its rule until today. Mohammed VI is the twenty-third king of this caliphate. He is responsible for ensuring the unity of the Kingdom and for transferring all religious values ​​to the Kingdom.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *